KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Kent County Council held in the Council Chamber, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Thursday, 12 December 2013.

PRESENT: Mr E E C Hotson (Chairman) Mr P J Homewood (Vice-Chairman)

Mrs A D Allen. Mr M J Angell, Mr D Baker, Mr M A C Balfour, Mr H Birkby, Mr N J Bond, Mr A H T Bowles, Mr D L Brazier, Mr R E Brookbank, Mr C W Caller, Miss S J Carey, Mr N J D Chard, Mrs P T Cole, Mr L Burgess. Mr G Cooke, Mr G Cowan, Mrs M E Crabtree, Ms C J Cribbon, Mr A D Crowther, Mrs V J Dagger, Mr D S Daley, Mr M C Dance, Mr J A Davies. Mrs T Dean, Mr T Gates. Dr M R Eddv. Mr J Elenor. Mrs M Elenor. Mr G K Gibbens. Mr R W Gough, Ms A Harrison, Mr M J Harrison, Mr P M Hill, OBE, Mr C P D Hoare, Mrs S V Hohler, Mr S Holden, Mrs S Howes, Mr A J King, MBE, Mr J A Kite, MBE, Mr R A Latchford, OBE, Mr R L H Long, TD, Mr G Lymer, Mr S J G Koowaree, Mr B E MacDowall. Mr T A Maddison, Mr S C Manion, Mr R A Marsh, Mr B Neaves, Mr M J Northey, Mr P J Oakford, Mr J M Ozog, Mr F McKenna. Mr R J Parry, Mr C R Pearman, Mr L B Ridings, MBE, Mr J E Scholes, Mr W Scobie, Mr J D Simmonds, Mr C P Smith, Mr T L Shonk. Mr C Simkins. Mrs P A V Stockell, Mr B J Sweetland, Mr A Terry, Mr N S Thandi, Mr R Truelove, Mr M J Vye, Mr J N Wedgbury, Mrs J Whittle, Mr M E Whybrow, Mr M A Wickham and Mrs Z Wiltshire

IN ATTENDANCE: Peter Sass (Head of Democratic Services)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

55. Apologies for Absence

(1) The Head of Democratic Services reported apologies from the following Members:

Mrs Pam Brivio Mr Paul Carter Mr Ian Chittenden Mr Brian Clark Mr Peter Harman Mr Martyn Heale

56. Declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary Interests or Other Significant Interests

(1) None.

12 DECEMBER 2013

57. Appointment of Honorary Aldermen

- (1) The Chairman announced that it was his great privilege and honour to preside over this special meeting of the County Council to confer the award of Honorary Alderman to eight of its most distinguished former Members, who had been judged to have provided eminent services, both to Kent County Council and the people of Kent.
- (2) The Chairman announced that Mr Richard King was unable to attend the meeting but had all expressed his delight and honour at being nominated. He offered a very warm welcome to the meeting to the other nominees and their guests:

Mr Chris Capon, MBE and Mrs Roma Arnott

Mr Leslie Christie and Mrs Jean Christie

Mr Bill Hayton

Mr Peter Lake and Mrs Nella Lake

Mr John London and Mrs Merrill London

Mr John Muckle and Mrs Ann Muckle

Dr Felicity Simpson PhD and Cmdr A T B C Simpson RN Retd

(3) Mr Simmonds and Mr Cowan spoke briefly to introduce their nominations.

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY: that the following distinguished former Members of Kent County Council be awarded the status of Honorary Alderman:

Mr Chris Capon, MBE

Mr Leslie Christie

Mr Bill Hayton

Mr Richard King

Mr Peter Lake

Mr John London

Mr John Muckle

Dr Felicity Simpson PhD

- (4) The Chairman then presented the newly appointed Honorary Aldermen with their Honorary Aldermen badges and their scrolls.
- (5) Mr Lake responded in suitable terms on behalf of the newly appointed Conservative Honorary Aldermen and Mr Christie responded on behalf of the Labour Honorary Aldermen. Both expressed their sincere gratitude for the honour bestowed upon them and their colleagues by the County Council and more specifically by their peers.